Leave this field empty

2019 CPMEC Junior Doctor of the Year Award

Since 2008, CPMEC has recognised junior doctors who made significant contributions to prevocational medical education and training. It was agreed that a two-tiered award structure be put in place with jurisdictional winners selected by each Postgraduate Medical Council or equivalent and the overall winner then selected by a small judging panel. The quality of nominations for the CPMEC award was extremely high in 2019 with nominations received from all CPMEC members.  All state winners and the overall winner were recognised at the 2019 Australian & New Zealand Prevocational Medical Education Forum in Canberra. Each Division winner was presented with a medal and the overall winner received a trophy. 

The recipient of this award will be a junior doctor with a satisfactory clinical performance who fulfils more than one of the following criteria:

  • Made a significant contribution to teaching and learning as a prevocational trainee in their workplace settings (hospital, community placements etc.); and/or
  • Evidence of special contributions to education and training such as project work, publications, posters, etc. These may include presentations to the international, national and state conferences; and/or
  • Made a significant contribution to the activities of the Postgraduate Medical Councils or equivalent; and/or
  • Evidence of improving opportunities for education and training in rural health; and/or
  • Any other information considered relevant.

The 2019 CPMEC Australia & New Zealand Junior Doctor of the Year Award was presented to Dr Sanjay Joseph from Northern Territory. 

The jurisdiction winners for 2019 were: 

New Zealand:  Dr Cameron Wells

Northern Territory:  Dr Elise O'Connor and Dr Sanjay Joseph

New South Wales:   Dr Thomas Morrison

Victoria:   Dr Daniel Wilson

South Australia:   -

Western Australia:   Dr Sherman Kwan

Queensland:   Dr Ari Isman

Australian Capital Territory:  Dr Eilidh Gilritchie

Tasmania:  Dr Shannon Lovell-Greene

Past Winners:

2018: Dr Jasmin Korbl (WA)

2017: Dr Samantha Iannella (SA)

2016: Dr Gajen Perry (SA)

2015: Dr Cameron Spenceley (NT)

2014:  Dr Katherine Curtis (QLD)

2013:   Dr Nicholas Webb (NSW)

2012:   Dr Amanda Poprzeczny (SA)

2011:   Dr Ross Roberts-Thompson (SA)

2010:   Dr William Liley (QLD)

2009:   Dr Caroline Rhodes (WA)

2008:   Dr Stephanie Arnold (NSW)