Leave this field empty

Postgraduate Medical Councils

Postgraduate Medical Councils (PMCs)* in each State and Territory in Australia and the Education Committee of the Medical Council of New Zealand are generally responsible for supporting and developing the education and training requirements for junior doctors and hospital medical officers in their prevocational years and through this improve the management of patient care.

PMCs have a range of responsibilities, which vary between states and may include:

  • accreditation of PGY1 positions, the first postgraduate year of training after medical school graduation
  • accreditation of PGY2 positions, the second postgraduate year of training immediately following intern year or PGY1 year
  • allocation of junior medical staff to supervised training positions in hospitals
  • workforce planning
  • development of curriculum frameworks
  • setting of standards and accreditation of healthcare facilities receiving junior doctors
  • evaluation of terms/rotations
  • provision of educational resources and promotion of educational training programs

The weblinks for state PMCs and New Zealand are below: 

NSW  Health Education and Training Institute (HETI); http://www.heti.nsw.gov.au
NT Northern Territory Prevocational Medical Assurance Service (NT PMAS); http://www.ntmetc.com
QLD Queensland Health – Prevocational Medical Accreditation Queensland (PMAQ)  https://pmaq.health.qld.gov.au/
SA South Australian Medical Education & Training (SAMET); https://www.samet.org.au
TAS Postgraduate Medical Education Council of Tasmania (PMCT); http://www.pmct.org.au
VIC Postgraduate Medical Council of Victoria (PMCV); http://www.pmcv.com.au
WA Postgraduate Medical Council of Western Australia (PMCWA); https://ww2.health.wa.gov.au/About-us/Postgraduate-Medical-Council
ACT Canberra Region Medical Education Council (CRMEC); http://crmec.health.act.gov.au
NZ          Medical Council of New Zealand Education Committee; http://www.mcnz.org.nz

*PMCs mean the Postgraduate Medical Council or equivalent body in each state and territory of Australia, and New Zealand.